Amy Gutmann was inaugurated on October 15, 2004 as the eighth president of the University of Pennsylvania. A political philosopher who focuses on practical ethics, deliberative democracy, and democratic education, she has published more than 100 articles, essays and edited books.

During her tenure at Princeton, President Gutmann was awarded the President's Distinguished Teaching Award in 2000, and served as Dean of the Faculty in 1995-97, as Academic Advisor to the President in 1997-98, and as Provost from 2001 until her appointment at Penn. She also was the founding Director of the University Center for Human Values. She is a member of the American Philosophical Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the W. E. B. Du Bois Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, a Fellow of the National Academy of Education, and past president of The American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy. She has served on the Board of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University and as Chair of the Executive Committee of the Princeton University Press.

In 2003, President Gutmann was awarded the Centennial Medal by Harvard University for "graduate alumni who have made exceptional contributions to society." She has also received the Bertram Mott Award "in recognition of outstanding achievement towards advancing the goals of higher education," the Ralph J. Bunche Award "for the best scholarly work in political science that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism," the North American Society for Social Philosophy Book Award and the Gustavus Myers Human Rights Award for the "outstanding book on the subject of human rights in North America."

Honorary Degrees: Wesleyan University (2005); Kalamazoo College (1992)

PhD, Harvard University