The George Kateb Preceptor Award was first given in 2011 and is named in honor of George Kateb, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Politics, Emeritus. This award is given annually to recognize the best graduate student preceptors in the Department of Politics. Kateb is a political theorist who has made significant contributions to liberal political theory. He joined the Princeton faculty in 1987 and retired from teaching in 2002. Kateb received the Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities from the University and the Stanley Kelley, Jr. Award from the Department.

In 2019, the award was given to Dan Berbecel, Julian DeanFederico Tiberti and Elsa Voytas.

graduate students kateb award 2019

Previous Winners


Paul Baumgardner, Naoki Egami, Will Horne and Rachel McLellan


John Dilulio, Sharan Grewal, Gabrielle Grigis, Asya Magazinnik and David Zuluga Martinez


Ted Enamorado, Mary Kroeger, Tolya Levshin, Brandon Miller-de la Cuesta and Saurabh Pant


Marcus Johnson, Lauren Mattoli, David McNamee and Austin Wright


Colby Clabaugh and Michael Lamb


Sarah Cotterill, Jason McMann and Herschel Nachlis


Deborah Beim and Justin Simeone


Javier Hidalgo and Michael McKoy