The George Kateb Preceptor Award was first given in 2011 and is named in honor of George Kateb, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Politics, Emeritus. This award is given annually to recognize the best graduate student preceptors in the Department of Politics. Kateb is a political theorist who has made significant contributions to liberal political theory.

In 2021, the award was given to William Schulz, Gabriel Borelli, Esther Robinson, and Sam Winter-Levy.